The Visit

A poem dedicated to the world’s truly wonderful autistic children

The Visit

As if through a telescope from afar

I watch his world move slowly across the carpet.

He turns the wheels of each toy car,

and lines them up perfectly

adjusting each one minutely.

I enter his space and hold orbit alongside him

and then, unpredictably

he lifts his eyes and contacts me.

One small but intensely bright moment.

He smiles, my daughter smiles, I smile

and we all have our eclipse

and we all stare directly into the sun

through our darkened glasses.

Then, before re-entry, he will hand me the yellow motor car.

…………………………….

A poem by  soloneili

3 thoughts on “The Visit”

Leave a Reply

