Been there, done it, read it.

Well I did it. Just as in the photo below which is self explanatory I duly stepped up to the plate as one of those chosen to read their own story from the anthology. I don’t know if any of you have ever done this but I must say I felt nervous but somehow pushed myself to conquer those nerves.

Mine is quite a sad story which I will publish on here in due course as it is only around 850 words, and I confess to being caught up a little in the emotion of the story which could be seen and felt by the audience (based on feedback) but I can’t help feeling that being human may have added to the read rather than taking away anything from it. I hope so anyway. The room was full, really well attended, and just goes to show that interest in literature at a local level is thriving in my area.

If you have never read your own creativity in public I recommend it as an experience where one learns quite a bit about one’s self. I found yet again that live performance is different to the comfort of recording stuff behind the anonymity of a microphone which also I enjoy doing.

It’s all part of my writing journey which I like to share on here, just as I like to read about other people’s writing journeys. Public speaking can be quite daunting, not for everyone, but I do feel richer for having done it once more, and I think I have gained a bit more confidence for another time too. First, there is the tricky matter of writing a short story that might be considered good enough. Fingers crossed and here we go again.

telling-tales-poster_orig

Leave a comment